Domestic Assault 2018-02-14T08:36:01+00:00


Virginia misdemeanor Assault and Battery can be punished by up to 12 months incarceration in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.00. You may also have to pay restitution to the victim.

The penalties may be different if the Commonwealth Attorney in Henrico, Hanover, or Chesterfield County can prove the person assaulted was a police officer, or if the person was chosen by the accused because of his or her race, religion, or ethnicity, or if the person was a school teacher.

Domestic Assault Penalties in Virginia

The most common form of Assault and Battery charged in Manassas, Fairfax and Leesburg is Domestic Assault (a/k/a: Domestic Violence).

Unfortunately, once the court system becomes involved, the Commonwealth Attorney decides whether or not to prosecute Domestic Assault and Assault and Battery cases. That means that even if the person who is the alleged “victim” is your husband or wife, your child, your parent, or your best friend and that person does not want the case to go forward, the prosecutor and court does not have to listen to the “victim’s” concerns.

Our domestic violence lawyers have watched prosecutors insist on a conviction for Domestic Assault and even argue for prison time even when every person involved with the case wanted the case dropped.

Consequences of Conviction

As with all misdemeanor convictions in the Commonwealth of Virginia, unless you receive a Governor’s pardon, a Domestic Assault or Assault and Battery conviction remains on your criminal record for the remainder of your life.

The conviction may jeopardize your employment, damage your opportunity to obtain a security clearance, and can restrict your right to possess firearms. A criminal conviction for domestic violence can also have an effect on child custody issues in family law cases.

If you are not an American citizen, a conviction may result in your inability to become a naturalized citizen and may even result in your removal from the United States.

Felony Assault and Battery in Virginia

There are many different crimes related to Assault and Battery that are considered felonies. If you or a loved one have been charged with any of the following, please contact us for a free confidential consultation. It is our strong recommendation that you speak with an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible.

Ensure a Proper Defense

The consequences of court proceedings for Virginia Domestic Assault and Assault and Battery are serious. You need a criminal defense attorney that will carefully listen to your concerns, provide personal attention to your case, and knows that the consequences are serious.

The criminal defense lawyers at The Gordon Law Firm have more than 40 years of combined trial experience arguing these types of cases before judges of General District Courts, Juvenile and Domestic Relations Courts, and Circuit Courts.

If you are accused of Domestic Assault or Assault and Battery in the Northern Virginia area, call Alex Gordon, our experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately for a free consultation.

To schedule a free consultation with an experienced Domestic Assault attorney in Fairfax, Manassas or Leesburg, call our office at 1.703.218.8416 or toll free at 1.866.591.6682.

Violent Crimes not related to sexual assault

  • Unlawful Wounding

  • Malicious Wounding
  • Aggravated Malicious Wounding
  • Robbery (A theft occurring simultaneously with an Assault)
  • Assault on a Law Enforcement Officer
  • Domestic Assault 3rd Offense
  • Malicious Wounding by Mob
  • Murder
  • Manslaughter and Involuntary Manslaughter

Sexual Assault Felonies

  • Sexual Assault upon a Minor
  • Animate Object Penetration or Inanimate Object Penetration
  • Forcible Sodomy
  • Rape



10509 Judicial Drive, Suite 102
Fairfax, Virginia 22030
Local: 1.703.218.8416
Text: 1.703.591.6682
Toll Free: 1.866.591.6682
Fax: 1.703.359.8473
Email: TheGordonLawFirm@gmail.com

All of the above charges are very serious. If convicted of some of the above offenses, a Defendant can serve up to life in prison. Before you speak to a law enforcement officer, talk to an experienced criminal defense attorney first.

Schedule a free appointment as soon as you learn that you or a loved one may be accused of one of these offenses.